Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

Swordsman 37" power source.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

Swordsman 37" power source.

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 02:21 AM
Doc.316

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swordsman 37" power source.

Hello.
I am an airplane modeler. (Ok I own 5 boats also!) One of the boats is the boat that I got into R/C with...way back in the early 70's! It is a 36" (37" total length) scale model of a fairey swordsman. I bought this boat when I was a kiddo and ran it a bunch...it has been to a few countrys...well anyway I replaced the rotted wood...glassed it so it should keep the parts together...and have painted it (actually it looks pretty good)....so now I am doing the power system. Earlier...way earlier...(the 70's man...groovy...) the motor was a 12v BAM (big *SS motor) which by todays standards (I believe) is probably underkill).

So here is the question....and everyone will have a difference ....what power source should I use for this....:
I want:

1. Reversible....I would like my kid to be able to run it. (she is a good car driver).
2. Easily maintaible...
3. Reasonable inexpensive...(I do not want the wife to "KILL" me.
4. Resonably long run times......

I do not want a killer fast boat...(actually I have one of those)...but a good tradeoff....

Steve

P.S. If anyone can tell me what "kit' this was...(is) let me know...Ok..it was bought in Gt. Yarmouth U.K. at the hobby shop in around 74....thanks....
Old 02-03-2008, 02:41 AM
Deathwish
My Feedback: (6)

Default RE: Swordsman 37" power source.

I like to serf the web alot. I came across this site for you. Have a try at them.
http://www.faireyownersclub.co.uk/default.asp

Also:

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...US259%26sa%3DN
Old 02-03-2008, 04:52 PM
Doc.316

Wow Deathwish (nice name)...