Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

newbie needs help

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2010, 11:53 AM
brooksk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie needs help

Greetings and Merry Christmas to all!

Hello. I am a newbie to RC tanks and have just received two Heng Long RC battle tanks. One of my tanks is a German Tiger 1, model 3818-1, sounds and smoke Air Soft. As I carefully removed it from its carton I was amazed at the details and heft of the beast. I was dissappointed to discover that my unit will not produce any sounds nor smoke as advertised. I have since written the vendor / seller about my misfortune and await a reply. I discovered this forum and saw issues with the smoke unit similar to mine. Hoping that the vendor / seller replaces or fixes the tank I am still wondering if such an occurance will continue in the future. I would like to know how the unit can be disassembled so that I can make minor repairs, such as to tracks, wheels, gears, etc., and also the sound card / speaker and smoke generator unit. Can anyone tell me how this is done for future use?

brooksk

P.S. If there is already an answer posted in a previous archive please advise.
Old 12-27-2010, 11:59 AM
shenlonco
My Feedback: (2)

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: newbie needs help

Hi first are you sure it's a smoke and sound version? Does it have real channel # crystal that can be pulled out and changed on the radio and tank?
If not you have a standard 3 speed version... If so then make sure you turn the volume knob up on the bottom of the tank it may be off.
Old 12-27-2010, 12:09 PM
angusx

As Shenloco says, check the volume control. Also if it's smoke and sound, it will have a smoke switch underneath and parallel to the on/off switch (it's a little smaller, but not so much so that you can't see it.)

There's quite a lot of general information in the FAQ section.