Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Pro's and Con's

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2016, 09:48 AM
Dlester77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pro's and Con's

Hey all! I'm brand new to RC tanks but me and some friends are preparing to take the plunge into the RC tank world. I was wondering what manufacturers you all would recommend for RTR tanks? So far we've all been looking at Taigen, Mato, and Heng Long.

Certainly like the Mato's and Taigen's for the metal parts but how are they as far as aftermarket upgrades? (Motherboards, smoke generators, etc.)

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-15-2016, 10:22 AM
Ex_Pat_Tanker

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

First question is what do you want from them? People will come along and tell you their favourite brand is better, but its all down to what you want your tank to do:
Detailed shelf queen?
IR battler?
Suitable for shooting videos - i.e. where more weight is advantageous to make the tank move over the ground more realistically?

Where do you want to use it?
Indoors?
on short grass / smooth dirt?
thru muddy puddles or long grass?
'drive it like you stole it' through whatever you feel like?

Your answers will influence what the best tank for your enjoyment of the hobby.

In terms of what is out there, Heng Long and Tamiya are the two extremes (at least out of the tanks worth buying - there are others but all the brands you mentioned are 1/16 and not cheap crap so I'll stick with those criteria here )
If I were to make gross generalisations:

Heng Long - Ready to run, cheap to buy, not so robust but plenty of cheap parts, not such great or accurate scale models, but their newer offerings are much improved over the older ones like the Tiger 1.