Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

BEWARE programming Clark TK22

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

BEWARE programming Clark TK22

Old 02-14-2017, 08:55 AM
  #1  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default BEWARE programming Clark TK22

Deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:43 AM.
Old 02-14-2017, 09:35 AM
  #2  
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,367
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

The recoil servo has always been there. The pictures you show also seem to show the jumper on the same pins.
Old 02-14-2017, 09:39 AM
  #3  
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,367
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

J3 has always been the IR emitter. J2 the servo recoil (which is where you put the jump and always have).
Old 02-14-2017, 10:22 AM
  #4  
sollie
 
sollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DRAMMENBuskerud, NORWAY
Posts: 1,365
Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Just to make sure .
You placed jumper like this ?






I have both tk22-24-60 and use that position for the jumper when using Sony remote . Nothing have changed on the layout on the boards .




Last edited by sollie; 02-14-2017 at 10:26 AM.
Old 02-14-2017, 03:02 PM
  #5  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:43 AM.
Old 02-14-2017, 03:18 PM
  #6  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:43 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 05:38 AM
  #7  
maillemaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

So are the jumper labels on the board correct?

In other words, they changed position but the labels are still correct?

Steve
Old 02-15-2017, 05:53 AM
  #8  
Dusty Steppes
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kenosha,WI
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am waiting on a new TK22 Panther board. I'll be comparing the labels with an older board before I hook anything up.
Old 02-15-2017, 05:56 AM
  #9  
maillemaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Well, I don't have one of these boards, but I agree it sure is confusing.

If you look at this page for the TK20-series:

http://www.clark-model.com/eng/prod_rx20/index.html

They show:



But if you look at this TK22 Tutorial:

http://www.clark-model.com/eng/prod_rx20_tu/index.html

They show:



So it looks to me like:
1) There is a difference between the TK20-series page board and the TK22-series page board.
2) The jumper is in the same location, but a different jumper designation (J2 on the TK20, J3 on the TK22).

So I would be confused trying to figure out where to put the jumper. I probably would have ignored the picture and gone by the jumper designation. If the instructions said jumper J2, then I would jumper J2 as designated on the board, rather than what the instructions show.

Steve
Old 02-15-2017, 06:52 AM
  #10  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,580
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

The picture is referenced for the jumper for the recoil servo, not the elevation servo. And it does look like the TK20 and TK22 boards have different jumper locations. Shows the importance of RTFM and not just looking at pictures.
Old 02-15-2017, 06:55 AM
  #11  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:44 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 06:57 AM
  #12  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:44 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 09:21 AM
  #13  
maillemaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 581
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

My question is, does the documentation say to plug into the correct jumper name or not?

If the documentation says plug into J2, and you plug into J2 on the board (regardless of what the picture shows), then I would think that is the correct thing to do - go with what is labeled on the board.


Steve
Old 02-15-2017, 10:05 AM
  #14  
Strato50
 
Strato50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,422
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Nothing has changed, follow the manual...
Old 02-15-2017, 10:07 AM
  #15  
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,367
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

As always RTFM
Old 02-15-2017, 10:13 AM
  #16  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:45 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 10:17 AM
  #17  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:45 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 10:25 AM
  #18  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,580
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mcovalsk View Post
Hey! they changed the layout, no documentation with the board or a warning about that. When you plug a 110/220 socket you read the documentation or just see the pictures?
Hey, the change the part number. Any engineer knows that can mean significant changes.
Old 02-15-2017, 10:25 AM
  #19  
mcovalsk
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 630
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

deleted

Last edited by mcovalsk; 02-15-2017 at 11:45 AM.
Old 02-15-2017, 11:25 AM
  #20  
Dusty Steppes
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kenosha,WI
Posts: 340
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you are referring to the new panther tk22 that I am waiting on, if it hasn't boarded a slow boat from China by now it soon will be. I will take a look at it when I get it. The last I heard was that the Chinese new year is delaying it.
Old 02-15-2017, 05:54 PM
  #21  
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 3,922
Likes: 0
Received 150 Likes on 132 Posts
Default

It's a good thing this is RCU, where the moderation is almost non-existent, because at most tank forums that I know of, you'd get banned for deleting all those posts like that.
Old 02-15-2017, 09:01 PM
  #22  
Cruiser133
 
Cruiser133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 903
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Crius View Post
It's a good thing this is RCU, where the moderation is almost non-existent, because at most tank forums that I know of, you'd get banned for deleting all those posts like that.
Ahh Gary, I think he realized he stepped in it. I understand his frustrations and the man makes good builds. No denying his talent bro. BTW, you think your meatchickens will actually beat my beloved Buckeyes next year?
Old 02-15-2017, 11:49 PM
  #23  
Pcomm1.v2
 
Pcomm1.v2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,029
Received 33 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Another Clark Board Warning!

I do have some successful first time experience with the Clark Board Setup (photos below) and I found the following to be the undeniable truth: purchase ELMOD and that is my best recommend to solve any Clark Board problems:

Find the solution here: https://www.elmod.eu/index.php?langu...u97mbreehhc1t3

You got to love the Clark stick commands though, OK, maybe not.



John

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ZTZ-98_Clark.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	2201443   Click image for larger version

Name:	Clark-Board.jpg
Views:	553
Size:	152.8 KB
ID:	2201444   Click image for larger version

Name:	Clark-Transmitter-Ops.jpg
Views:	543
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	2201445  
Old 02-15-2017, 11:57 PM
  #24  
tomhugill
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,367
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Although no everyone has a computer radio, those with can transfer all those fiddly stick commands onto switches instead which I find a big help.
Old 02-16-2017, 12:20 AM
  #25  
Pcomm1.v2
 
Pcomm1.v2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,029
Received 33 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

Hi Tom,

You just had to go and spoil my Clark fun with facts! For example, the Benedini and (Dan's out of production) BARC are spec'd into WIP Tamiya Gepard Flakpanzer and the Futaba 8JA 8 Channel 2.4 is the selected transmitter & receiver setup. My new favorite Futaba transmitter.

John








Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.