Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Taigen Sherman: 3D print fix for no track tensioner?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Taigen Sherman: 3D print fix for no track tensioner?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2020, 02:14 PM
H2Ohaze

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Taigen Sherman: 3D print fix for no track tensioner?

Erik mentioned a while back a solution for track stretching on the Taigen Sherman which is unfortunately one of theirs without idler tension adjustment. It involves printing up plastic sleeves to slip over the idler, making it bigger- and taking up the slack. Has anyone done this? I don't have a printer...I'm guessing what is wanted is a hard plastic in black, 1.375" ID, wall thickness from 0.030" to 0.080" and a length of 0.5"

My math may be screwy on that, and I'm a newbie, so correct me here if I have something wrong. Very very very roughly, my guess is that 1/16" wall thickness buys you about half a link...based on nothing but paper napkin math.

Has anyone tried this solution?
Old 11-01-2020, 10:00 AM
RichJohnson

Received 374 Likes on 238 Posts

I have run my taigen shermans to death. Well the first two any way. I have many. I just replaced the track. Just like you do on a tamiya sherman or even a tamiya abrams (which they say to do when you run out of adjustment and those are 250 bucks)
Track stretches, plain and simple..
I used Mato adjustable Idlers on a henglong sherman which is a plastic hull. On the taigen, you would need a dremmel with various attachments to be able to cut off and grind away the zinc chassis casting and then place the mato idler in place and drill and tap screw holes for it. I will have to do this eventually as their track keeps stretching out and I just cant afford to replace track like that. I will do a write up on it when I do go mad scientist on one and put an adjustable idler on it.