Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Hello and a starter question >

Hello and a starter question

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Hello and a starter question

Old 11-04-2023, 05:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello and a starter question

Hi RC Tank folk. I am looking at getting into RC tank hobbying. I have been a scale RC helicopter builder and flyer for quite a few years and have recently acquired a Heng Long 1/24 Leopard tank to cut my teeth on.
However, there's a problem - it came without a transmitter. I've tried to find the Heng Long transmitters for sale separately, without success. So my question is, is it possible to bind the Heng Long 1/24 tanks to an alternative 2.4g transmitter? I have a nice 6-channel Futaba S-FHSS transmitter which looks suitable.
I would be very grateful for any thoughts, suggestions and so-on.
Old 11-04-2023, 10:09 AM

Received 147 Likes on 96 Posts

Welcome to the RC tank hobby.

I know the Heng Long (HL) radio system is proprietary so you can not bind any other kind of transmitter to it. I don't know much about the 1/24 scale tanks, I only have the 1/16 scale stuff, but lots of the folks on this forum upgrade to aftermarket control boards so we can use better than stock transmitters. The upgraded control boards also give better performance and sounds. The new HL 7.0 control boards give pretty good performance, so if you can put one of those transmitter / 7.0 control board combos into your tank it may work.

Old 11-05-2023, 08:31 AM

Received 45 Likes on 34 Posts

Welcome aboard. 1/24 isn't a very popular scale so you won't find much aftermarket stuff for it, and space limitations will be a problem with a lot of boards, and as Paco said, you can't bind that tank to an aftermarket TX.