Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Newbie with Tamiya Leo

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 06:35 PM
templarlock

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with Tamiya Leo

I just found out that I will be getting my first R/C tank; a Tamiya Leo2 full option. I am new to R/C but not to modelling. I built tons of models when I was a kid, but haven't done any in well over 15 years.

Any tips on assembly, accessories, painting, and the like would be appreciated. I have scoured this forum and learned that I will need more ceramic grease, lots of paint/primer, and the like.

I am thinking about gettting the gun stabilizer also. Is this necessary?

Thanks!
Old 12-03-2006, 07:34 PM
Supreme Reign

Default RE: Newbie with Tamiya Leo

Wow!! That's some present. The gun stabilizer isn't necessary unless you just gotta have complete realism. It'll keep the main gun level while going over uneven surfaces. It's also ridiculously expensive.
Old 12-03-2006, 08:40 PM
templarlock

I'll probably wait, then, on the stabilizer. Is the Leopard 2A6 one of the better "starter" R/C tank kits? From what I have read there, they can take a fair bit of abuse.

I also recall something about getting metal suspension parts due to the plastic stock ones cracking or something. Should I look into this?
Old 12-03-2006, 08:41 PM
templarlock

I almost forgot - are there any "after market" accessories for the Leopard 2? Something about a turret-mounted MG or something?
Old 12-03-2006, 09:45 PM
templarlock

Sorry for the numerous questions, but as the topic says, I am a newbie.

Is there any book or website where I can get a winter camo paint scheme guide for my soon-to-be-arriving tank?
Old 12-04-2006, 08:06 AM
heavyaslead

Received 36 Likes on 25 Posts

templarlock

Saw your comment asking for tips, here is a review that may help:

http://www.sead.us/kitreviews.html