Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

1st Tank for xmas

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2006, 12:27 AM
mitchlandry

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st Tank for xmas

Hi all,
I'm new to RC tanks, but not new to RC. I am considering the HL Bulldog, i'm budget minded, as an xmas gift to myself. The Tamiya tanks are gorgeous, but WOW, what a price increase. Anyhow, i notice the HL tanks are airsoft equipped to shoot 6MM BB's. Has anyone tried the 6MM painballs that fit into the airsoft guns? Any degradation in performance (firing perspective) from the airsoft unit?
Any pre-mature failure using the paintballs instead of BB's? Just curious..

And of course, once i get it, i will definately post pictures for all to enjoy.
Old 12-14-2006, 12:39 AM
Harquebus

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: 1st Tank for xmas

Those have been tried, the 6mm paintballs, with varied success. I think swathdiver is the lead pioneer on improving the airsoft unit and has recommended which paintballs to use as well as the best performing regular BB's. The airsoft unit invariably needs some improvement to burst the paintballs on a consistent basis. Some tanks can do it in stock form, others need an upgrade it seems.
My Pershing has no trouble lobbing BB's around the room with ferocity--just haven't gotten around to using paintballs yet. Oh well...

I would search the forum for anything airsoft related.

EDIT: you can post pictures of your out-of-the-box Bulldog, but it would be more gratifying to us all if you made modifications or repainted it before you did. We've seen plenty of plain-jane M41's

-Harq
Old 12-14-2006, 01:01 AM
swathdiver

If you purchased the "Super" version your tank will come with a bottle of yellow bbs. These are actually very good, second only to the Crosman Glo .12g in my testing. If you just have the little box, throw it away as they will jam your gun.