Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Solutions For The Rear Idler, Tiger 1

Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Solutions For The Rear Idler, Tiger 1

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 04:47 PM
Kabul Tanker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Solutions For The Rear Idler, Tiger 1

Hi

I am new to the tank worls as many people are this time of year but I have a question. I have searched the forum for the last little while looking for solutions to IMPROVING the rear idler wheel supports. I read mention of a solid, across chasis axle, but there was no directions. I am looking for any and all ideas anyone may have to create a new rear idler mounting system that...

1. Is stronger and will prevent actual breaking of the chasis and teh mounting point for teh idlers

2. Will allow the idler wheels to come off for maintenance and put back on easily, without using a hammer and a punch(I am sure you can only do this so many times before teh chasis is comprimised)

I do think a single axle configuration is likely teh best way to go... but I am hoping either to be enlightened to something different or for insight to installing a solid axle.

Thanks!!!

Old 12-29-2006, 06:01 PM
iggysmith

Default RE: Solutions For The Rear Idler, Tiger 1

Hello Kabul

You are right about the weakness of the rear idler wheels on the Heng Long Tiger. I had to return one which arrived already broken I did however check it out and thought it was pretty poor. The single axle solution you are thinking about will not work unless both wheels are free to move independantly on a single shaft, as when the tank is turning the idlers move in opposite directions to one another.