Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Smoking Building

Old 06-05-2007, 03:40 PM
  #1  
dacostasr
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dacostasr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, NY
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smoking Building

I took one of my bombed out building and put a short burning smoke device in it. I placed it in a coffee can for safety. Just testing...

might still be uploading...so wait a few minutes...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIPAyX_He-o

Later,

Dennis
Old 06-05-2007, 03:43 PM
  #2  
shenlonco
My Feedback: (2)
 
shenlonco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: prospect park, NJ
Posts: 4,722
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

That was cool!
Old 06-05-2007, 04:53 PM
  #3  
karma99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 327
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Smoking Building

Very cool [sm=thumbs_up.gif]
Old 06-05-2007, 05:58 PM
  #4  
darkith
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fredericton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 664
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

Neat. Need to couple one of those smoke devices to an IR sensor for a "destroyable objective". Could even have a few planks, boards, or pieces "pop" off a house to simulate an explosion.

D.
Old 06-05-2007, 06:19 PM
  #5  
dacostasr
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dacostasr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, NY
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

The firework store has a remote...receiver and transmitter with 5 wires for "devices"...I'm sure a wiz could hook that up.
Old 06-05-2007, 06:27 PM
  #6  
darkith
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fredericton, NB, CANADA
Posts: 664
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

Tankhobby sells a detector for $16 that can trigger a relay when hit by IR (and hence light a model rocket ignitor fuse or actuate a servo to "blow" something up). It's a little non-selective (it can be triggered by an appropriate tv remote) but would work in a pinch. A slightly more advanced circuit could use a PIC microcontroller to detect the actual Tamiya battle signal and count hits before triggering. Would make it easier to have a reinforced bunker that took a good number of hits rather than a lucky snipe shot to destroy it...

D.
Old 06-06-2007, 02:09 AM
  #7  
Stern
Senior Member
 
Stern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: rosenberg, GERMANY
Posts: 694
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

Really very cool !!! [sm=thumbup.gif] ...mh... should put this effect into a T34 after being hit by my Tiger's
Old 06-06-2007, 02:18 AM
  #8  
Perry S.
 
Perry S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Posts: 2,124
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Smoking Building

I guess I'm the only DB that has something negative to say but here goes It looks like you are using fireworks to create your smoke. You can see sparks flying off. It is a totally cool effect but there are easier and more controllable ways to make smoke for effect. It would be cool if your building had a smoke generator and some electronics so you could turn it on and off.
Old 06-06-2007, 04:41 AM
  #9  
Almighty
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pasig City, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 73
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

Why not something like the tanks' smoker unit?
Old 06-06-2007, 05:57 AM
  #10  
dacostasr
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
dacostasr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, NY
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Smoking Building

I actually have 2 halloween foggers....They have timers...but then I need juice.

Yep, I did see the spark in the video...unfortunately I will not be using those devices...I was only testing them out for effect. I don't want to have to apply for a pyrotechnic license.

The first time I used it I had it sealed in 2 coffee cans with holes poked in the top..nice effect also, but Perry S. is correct, for safety sake it was just an experiment in controlled conditions.

Now where do I find a 1000 foot extension cord for my fog machines...lol.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.