Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Old 04-27-2009, 02:19 PM
  #1  
bowlman
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,947
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Ok playing around with my Specktrum DX5e ive figured out how to make the ratchet stick self centering i took the radio left over from my Matorro KT converted to HL electronics and removed the 4 springs form the two sticks took 3 small screws and removed the metal ratchet tab on the DX5e and added 1 spring on the bottom and 1 spring on the top then to get it to center more added a spring from the top to the center of up and down stick to center it you may have to use diffrent springs to set up how you want it to fill but it works here are some pic .

Thanks
Jimmy
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46658.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	69.5 KB
ID:	1187967   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71556.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	1187968   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94836.jpg
Views:	275
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	1187969  
Old 04-29-2009, 10:45 AM
  #2  
blitzkrieg65
Senior Member
 
blitzkrieg65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 2,841
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Hey Jimmy,

This looks pretty easy, thanks for sharing,, guys should bookmark this for future refferance because I bet you someone will be asking how to do this within a month or 2

The Blitz
Old 04-29-2009, 11:01 AM
  #3  
Jeff489
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Nice job Jimmie. You've done something that Spektrum said couldn't be done...err more accurately...won't be done (at least by them). Thanks for sharing.
Old 04-29-2009, 12:56 PM
  #4  
bowlman
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,947
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Making a Specktrum DX5e Self Centering

Ya after reading other posts about Specktrum only wanting to do the DX6i and not the DX5e I opened it up and said shoot there is not much there should be easy todo were I work the machines have lever and switches worked by springs to counter balance them should work here one other way to do it with two springs would be to run the screw in the center of the stick and have springs hook up at each end this way it cuts it down two 2 springs .

Thanks
Jimmy
Old 04-04-2020, 01:11 AM
  #5  
Dialend13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Awsome hack on that radio

Awsome now i know how i can fix mine thank
Old 04-04-2020, 07:22 AM
  #6  
bowlman
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: jackson, MI
Posts: 1,947
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Nice to see that my going on 11 year old post is still helping someone .
Thanks
Jimmy
Old 04-06-2020, 02:39 AM
  #7  
Crius
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 3,027
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I can't believe guys are still buying Spektrum radios, given the quality radios that are available now for much, much less.
Old 04-12-2020, 06:40 PM
  #8  
edoubleaz
My Feedback: (1)
 
edoubleaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,961
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Crius View Post
I can't believe guys are still buying Spektrum radios, given the quality radios that are available now for much, much less.
I have gotten lucky over the years and found Older Dx-5s (Grey body) second hand or trades so I still use them because I have a stable bunch to work with. I do not like the newer black body Spektrums so I keep chugging along and even with Orange RC relievers I have good results so far.
Old 04-12-2020, 07:59 PM
  #9  
tankme
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Elgin, TX
Posts: 619
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I still have two Spektrums laying around. If there is nothing wrong with them I will use them.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.