Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Metal Casting

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2009, 11:10 PM
YHR

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Metal Casting

This is my first attempt at metal casting, and it actually went pretty good. This is a hobbiest technique and there is far too much work involved to ever make these wheels commercially viable. So rather then start making these and selling them, I will show you how you can make them.

The master was taken from a 1/18 scale Sherman. I sanded away almost all the molded on tires except enough to bring the diameter of the wheel out to 1/16 scale.

I backfilled the void with plastercine.

Normally I use Smooth on products, but I ran out and the nearest supply is in Edmonton. I found a two part silicone molding paste locally and being desperate I thought I would give it a try. It worked, but is a poor imitation of what could have been cast using the smooth on product.

The metal is a low temp alloy that melts at 158 F. You guys in Arizona might want the 170 stuff.

It is melted in a regular candle wax hot plate. I sanded in a pour spout to help control the pour of the molten alloy.

Each wheel is made from two castings. The rough casting are sanded smooth on both sides. The two halves are then glued together. Half way through boring the axle hole I use my drill to get the casting rotating and then sand the rim smooth.

I use Tamiya Sherman rubber tires. 1.5 tires for each rim. I plan on running this wheel through black silcone caulking to hide the seem. Once dry it should look ok.

Not much to it. Micro mark sells the Low temp alloy.

Again each wheel takes a lot of work, and I am afraid I would never want to make these for a commercial endeavour. So no I won't be selling these.!!!!!

This method though can allow a hobbiest to do something a little different and fill a void until some commercial offerings are made.