Community
Search
Notices
RC Truggy Trucks and buggies together make a truggy. Discuss all things truggy right here.

2.4 radio vs fm

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2009, 06:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.4 radio vs fm

Ya I am new to the hobby what are the main advantages of the 2.4 radios vs the Fm style radios. I think it has something to do with the frquency is the 2.4's a better radio???Just need info on radios, espacially considering I may be buying a rtr truggie and maybe will upgarde the radio.
Old 05-16-2009, 06:18 PM

Default RE: 2.4 radio vs fm

2.4gHz radios offer the advantage of a secure channel that no one can disrupt on you. FM has specific channels on which they operate and if someone near you with another FM radio happens to have the same channel as you, they can wind up causing your radio to glitch and not allow it to control your vehicle. In fact, they could wind up contolling YOUR vehicle without even knowing it. This cannot happen with 2.4gHz radios as they operate on unique frequencies that they pick at the time they are turned on, and the frequency they lock onto cannot be chosen by any other radio.
Old 05-16-2009, 06:33 PM

thanks for the info that helps is the 2.4 really that much better other than interference?
Old 05-16-2009, 06:33 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I, against the major trend..., still run the original FM radio from my LST2.. - in three trucks and a buggy.   You do have to be more aware of who's doing what around you, but 1.) I don't bash with other people too much to have to worry about it too often, and 2.) racing, most everybody else has DSM anyway so that's almost never an issue at the tracks where I go...

Also, I really don't like what I hear about Spektrum range problems...  That would seriously p.iss me off...

I really can't complain about my FM radio...  Range is further than I can see, it never glitches, etc..