Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Skyshark Dauntless Electric Conversion

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Skyshark Dauntless Electric Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 10:15 AM
smitty4980

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Skyshark Dauntless Electric Conversion

I'm just getting started on a Skyshark Dauntless dive bomber. I'm planning on making it electric if it is possible with a reasonable amount of effort. If anyone has done this or has recommendations on the best way to go about making the battery hatch I would be grateful for your assistance / suggestions. I also would want to make a dummy radial engine to go in the cowl ahead of the motor to give it a scale appearance.
Old 07-22-2017, 05:15 AM
LDM
My Feedback: (15)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Smitty I think we need to see the plans or the build process started to help .
I have converted many traditional birds over to epower and its usually super easy especially during the framing process.
The key elements I look for
1) battery size ---?? 6 cell and can it fit in an obvious space like the fuel tank
2) what former can be moved ?
3) what is the best place for access that does not impact scale
4) do I have room to move the battery for CG without adding weight ( forward and aft )
5) can I easily add battery straps to the area
6) how did the plane balance with a glow engine , what was the weight if the glow and was weight needed for CG? All of these facts then determine my motor size ( 60 , 90 , 110 ) my battery size , my prop or scale prop ect
I assembled the VQ ARF version almost the same size as the skyshark , went with a 60 size motor, 6 cell 4500 pack , no weight needed at all
Old 07-22-2017, 08:15 AM
smitty4980