Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

P-40B conversion

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 02:20 AM
gospeedracer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P-40B conversion

Hey guys,
I'm fairly new to scale warbirds and i need your help on a couple of issues. I recently bought half a top flight P-40E kit of Peter_OZ (minus wing compnents) and was hoping to convert it to a B model, but still want to conceal the engine and muffler. There lies several problems, the B's chin cowling is shallower so it restricts the height of the engine. Also the nose extends almost 90mm past the end of the radiator cowling before the spinner where on the E there is only about 10mm. Are there any engines that have long enough crankshafts before the cylinder? Thanks for your help
Old 12-30-2004, 02:27 AM
Woody 51

Default RE: P-40B conversion

Have you considered an RCV?

Just mount it on a "box" the required length to get the prop driver in the correct position.

No problems with the head poking out. It hasn't got one!
Old 12-30-2004, 02:42 AM
saramos

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am building a TF Spit in which I will be installing an RCV 90. I chose the RCV for two reasons. First, it will fit neatly in the cowl, and second, it will turn a 15" 4 blade.

I have to extend the engine mounting box to give proper placement of the engine, and I may need to make a verticle adjustment to the firewall for the shaft alignment, but the mods don't look too hard. I have some photos in my gallery.

Good luck on your build
Scott
Old 12-30-2004, 03:01 AM
gospeedracer