Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Hitec servos

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2005, 10:44 PM
Darklotus
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hitec servos

Hello everyone.

I'm in the construction stage of the TF giant P-51. This will be my first large scale warbird, and my first gasser. I have been modeling for about 5 years now, and have always stuck with one type of radio gear (Futaba). I don't know why, out of blind faith I guess lol. But my question is this. Is Hitec any good? And what are some good Hitec servos, for this awsome plane I'm building? Tf recommends at least 70 Oz-in. servos. I'm not to sure if this is a major factor in picking out the servos but, total project weight I’m predicting is going to be around 25 - 27 lbs. It's going to be glassed and painted, also a first thing for me.

Any suggestions?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

James
Old 01-20-2005, 11:02 PM
Katchmarek
My Feedback: (29)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec servos

Hi James, I was the same way for a long time, except I always used JR stuff. Several years ago I needed some servos for a project and my LHS didn't have the JR's that I wanted, they could have ordered them and would have only taken about a week...but I for some reason didn't want to wait. I bought some HiTech's and was very pleased with them and saved a bunch of $$ to boot. I have been using them ever since and have never had a problem. I mostly build and fly giant scale warbirds, and use HS-625MG's on the ailerons (94.43 oz. in.) and on the flaps, fudder and elevator I use HS-805BB's (343 oz. in.). Personally I like to fly my warbirds in a scale like manner, no hovering or super sonic low passes...so I don't need control responses like the 3D and aerobatic guy's do. These servos provide the response that is necessary and more than enough power. And like I mentioned, they haven't failed me yet.
Rob / Pickupsticks