Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

giantscaleplanes fighters any good?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

giantscaleplanes fighters any good?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2005, 10:39 AM
p-47 razorback pilot
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default giantscaleplanes fighters any good?

anyone ever built or flown any of there fighters? they look pretty cool for a fun lil fighter not expensive, any thoughts?[]
Old 01-25-2005, 12:14 PM
US185Damiani

Default RE: giantscaleplanes fighters any good?

I have the little P-47,
flies good it is the CMP kit
GSP customer service can be shady at times
Old 01-25-2005, 01:11 PM
FlyingTyger
My Feedback: (2)

I've been flying their 96" Mustang for 2 years now. We've run into a few problems and yes their customer service can be a little lacking. Anyway, I've had to reglue many joints in the kit including the firewall and tailwheel mount. Both of which all but fell off during the first flight. The fiberglass work on the fuse and cowls is a little thin and prone to cracking and excessive wear. If you build one reinforce the wing saddle area. The retract mounts are garbage. I replaced mine as I built the plane and the only time I tore one out, it was caused by a bad landing on my part. The wing bolts go into hardwood blocks. Replace these. The wood they use isn't hard enough. I originally threaded the blocks, but had to install brass threaded inserts within the first year of flying. Now a year later, even the brass inserts are starting to pull out. I must admit though, that I'm using a Zenoah G-62 in it, and had I used something like a ZDZ or 3W, the decrease in vibration would have saved me from some of these problems. Other than that, the plane flies absolutely wonderful with no bad habits. However, I've heard that they use Ziroli's designs, so if you're a builder, it might be easier to build up a Ziroli than