Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Got to fly a real SNJ on Friday. >

Got to fly a real SNJ on Friday.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Got to fly a real SNJ on Friday.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2003, 02:27 AM
My Feedback: (37)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got to fly a real SNJ on Friday.

I know this is a bit off-topic, guys but please bear with me. On Friday I got to fulfill a life-long dream. I am a licensed pilot and have a couple hundred hours in Cessna 172's, but haven't flown for a few years because diabetes has made it so expensive to keep my medical. I've always been crazy about airplanes, especially warbirds, and , like most of you, I've always had a dream of sitting at the controls of a Mustang or Corsair, and tearing up the sky. Well, I saw an ad in the local paper the other day advertising rides in a real warbied. I called and talked to them and arranged for a 30-minute ride for $270, where I could do a few aerobatic maneuvers. They were as good as their word. After takeoff the pilot pulled up the gear and said "You've got the aircraft". We headed out far enough away from the rural airport to safely do some fancy flying. The instructor would show me a maneuver, then I would try it. We did aileron rolls, loops, inverted flight, and a couple of hammerhead stalls. I just couldn't believe this was happening to me! The plane seemed so smooth and responsive; so much better than I had expected the plane to fly. And everything seemed so easy to do. Of course, having flown aerobatics with an RC plane for many years helped there, I'm sure. I admit, the G's were pretty hard to take, and, by the time we finished, my stomach had gotten pretty queasy, but I kept everything down, a fact that we were both glad of. I didn't come close to blacking out, though, but the forces are pretty oppresive. The queasiness certainly didn't dampen my enthusiasm, though, and