Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Ziroli F6F Hellcat Build

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Ziroli F6F Hellcat Build

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2007, 10:46 AM
liam_irish

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ziroli F6F Hellcat Build

Hi everyone,

My name is Liam and I am just beginning my latest project - a Ziroli F6F Hellcat. I haven't been able to build for the last few years because I was in graduate school and trying to get my career going. Now that I have finally secured my first job, I have a bit of money and time after work in which I don't have to study. That equals building!!

Most of my prior building experience was with 40-60 sized kits, so this Hellcat is the first larger scale building task I have undertaken (and the first one without instructions!!) I figured this forum would be a great place to share my progress, and hopefully more knowledgeable people could warn me before I make a catastrophic mistake (or maybe just offer some helpful advice so that I can complete this build successfully).

I hope you enjoy the photos, and please forgive me in advance for my lack of experience and the many simple questions I will ask!

I completed the crutch and have temporarily put the formers in place, but no glue yet. Still need to finish off sanding the rear of the crutch to fit the last two formers on. Next will be the inner and outer wing saddle, then some stringers. It is already beginning to take shape!

Also, I have read that installing carbon fiber cloth and rods near the rear of the fuse is a good idea. Can anyone give me some information on how to do this or where to learn?

Liam
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tq48712.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	771875   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf14709.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	771876   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ns45777.jpg
Views:	520