Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Robarts and Plat Mustang?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Robarts and Plat Mustang?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2003, 02:17 AM
alextran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robarts and Plat Mustang?

Has any one installed robarts 622-5s into Dave Plats 80" Mustang? If so woud you please tell me how? I am building one and need to know what to do for the landing gear. I ordered and recieved the 622-5s but I can see it will take some doing to make them work. They don't even come close. I can still send them back. What should I do?
This is my first attempt with retratcs and war birds so any help will be greatley appreciated.

Leo
Old 05-16-2003, 03:24 AM
pittsdriver
My Feedback: (7)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have this kit also and was going to put the same gear in it myself. Not having installed retracts puts you at a disadvantage. Making up some ply mounting plates shouldn't be to hard, just make sure the geometry is right. I'm doing a Spitfire right now and won't get to the 51 for awile so I'm not a lot of help. I do think that that is a good gear for the airplane as the cantaliver strut lets you get it in the scale position. The retracts that have the struts in the center of the mounting brackets force you to put the gear to far back and is not scale. Look at your documentation and you will see that the strut comes out very close to the leading edge. Don
Old 05-16-2003, 04:37 PM
Chad Veich
My Feedback: (60)

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts