Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Pica Spit 1/6 Scale

Community
Search
Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Pica Spit 1/6 Scale

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2003, 06:54 PM
WhiteRook
My Feedback: (38)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Pica Spit 1/6 Scale

How DOES this plane build and fly? I have experience with Pica kits.
Old 05-18-2003, 05:54 AM
ho2zoo
My Feedback: (5)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Pica 1/6 Spitfire

I have the Pica Spitfire and I love it! It was a lot of work to build; a lot of carving and sanding, but very enjoyable and not difficult. One thing I strongly recommend: modify it for split flaps! I studied a three-view of the Spit and built mine roughly to scale size. All you have to do is remove a section of the wing bottom sheeting at the trailing edge and build the flap from thin ply. Mine are about 1 inch wide, 8 inches long, and are activated by a single servo in the center of the wing pushing a semi-flexible cable in a tube.

My Spit is powered by an OS .91 Surpass turning a 14x6 prop. It has Spring-Air gear with Robart Robostruts. The plane is a real joy to fly! A little right rudder and a touch of up elevator makes for easy, scale take-offs. It tracks beautifully through all the basic manuevers. I don't do any snaps or spins, because thats not the way I like to fly. Mine is balanced a little nose heavy, so stall recovery is no big deal. Its been a while since I intentionally stalled it, but I think it gently drops the left wing. Nose down, a little throttle, and its flying again.

For landing I drop the gear and then about 45 degrees of flap. Then I fly a normal sport-plane pattern. She floats down and sets on the mains. I have landed it a few times without flaps, and it has to come in a lot faster.

See my club's site at www.rcrcky.com

Mine is the one with JEJ on the side. Good luck!
Old 05-18-2003, 06:51 PM
WhiteRook

Default 1/6 SPIT