Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Redcat Volcano S30 Newbie Issues

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 10:33 PM
boostnm3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Redcat Volcano S30 Newbie Issues

Ok i just got my volcano in today. Has the s30 motor with tuned pipe and header. I also got the electric start wand but havent installed it and dont know if i want to. Im new to nitro trucks or nitro in general. Honestly, i got the truck, pulled it out of the box and was inpressed with the way it looked. Very nice. I know ive ready you must take all the screws out and put blue loctite on them. Now is that every screw or mainly just the engine and underbody? 1 thing that turned me off right away was 1 of the engine mounting screws was so tight i almost stripped the screw getting it out to put loctite on it. Finally got that out and couldnt exactly tell how to get the clutch bell adjusted. The pics are vague in the manual. Just says put a piece of paper and then tighten down the screws and pull the paper out. Where do you put this piece of paper? On the actual gears or in between the gears or what. Very confusing. I kind of adjusted it by feel. I kept playing with it, till i could push the car easily and couldnt hear any grinding and would roll smooth. Not sure if i did it right. Like i said im new, but are these cars made for people with small hands. I just looked around and couldnt really tell how i would get some screws out without taking the whole car apart. Also how do i get to the grub screws? Do i have to dismantle the car for all this? Sorry for all the questions, but i sat there and tried to adjust it for a few hours, and finally gave up because the car was giving me a headache. The screwdrivers that come with the car can go straight in the trash. The 1st screw i tried to take out and the screwdriver bit bend like a pretzel. Cheap tools. I dont know, im going to just give it a few days th