Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

My new spa3dt (Pics)

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2003, 07:40 PM
Madd_Maxx

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My new spa3dt (Pics)

I've been flying for almost 2 years now with my 2 trainers....a thunder tiger trainer (first plane that has been crashed so many times it's more epoxy and thin ca but still flys stable as ever) and a newer hanger 9 extra easy. I fly with a small group of guys off a private paved 6000' runway and I'm getting more comfortable everytime we go out to fly.....takeoffs and landings are almost second nature now (Thanks G2 for all the rainyday practice).

I guess I've been bitten by the spad building bug and it seems to be a good thing so far. I love to build things..or re-build things (woodworking - steel - r/c stuff in general) and this spad was an excellent project to pass some time while the weather was less than favorable for flying....it's been cold and rainy here for the last few days.

Just thought I would ask a few quick questions before the maiden flight tomorrow (hopefully if the weather cooperates). With this being my first tail-dragger style plane what can I expect from this little rocketship as far as the takeoffs and landings are concerned? I've got it pretty close to being balanced 6 - 6 1/2" from the leading edge of the wing with an empty tank....is that close enough for stable flight response? The motor is an old spare TT gp.42 with a 10x5 prop that came out of my trainer....is that going to be enough motor and the correct prop for some decent performance?

I do have a buddy box for my jr radio and one of the other guys in our group has flown tail draggers for the last 2 years so he can give me a few pointers and help taking off and landing if need be.