Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Spad help needed!

Old 03-31-2004, 06:45 AM
Mac-

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spad help needed!

I'm new to building Spads!

I've managed to find a local supplier of correx here in the UK but the 8 x 4ft sheets are only 3mm in thickness. If I bond two layers together will this make it too heavy for small deltas etc.

Any advice appreciated!
Old 03-31-2004, 08:36 AM
Crash Master

Default RE: Spad help needed!

I would think that the 3mm would work okay for you. When 4mm is called for, you might need to reinforce the 3mm a bit, but I would think you should be fine with just the 3mm. The nice thing about SPAD's is that you can always try and see what happens with little financial investment. SPAD's work great for the "trial and error" approach.

Good luck,
Old 03-31-2004, 01:13 PM
Mac-

Are SPAD deltas normally made from 4mm correx or should is this be thicker - say 6mm?
Old 03-31-2004, 05:29 PM
ChrisSpad

what spad delta? airfoiled or not? i use 2 mil for my deltas, but they're airfoiled, and have a spar setup. I defenitely wouldn't use 2 pieces of 3 mil, thats gonna be really to heavy.
Old 03-31-2004, 06:45 PM
Mike in DC

I agree with Crash. If you can't get a definitive answer here, go for it. I think the worse that will happen is you need to put some bamboo skewers or small dowels down every tenth flute or something to stiffen it up.
Old 03-31-2004, 08:12 PM
Tattoo

You do not need to bond it together. 3mm coroplast will work great for a .40 class sport plane, in fact Spad #1 was built entirely out of 3mm coroplast. The neat thing about 3mm coroplast is that 1/8" dowel is a perfect fit inside the flutes for stiffening the tail feathers and control surfaces. It is awesome for building wings, as it's easier to fold and glue than 4mm, yet almost as strong...and much stronger than 2mm.