Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Glueing Coro

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2003, 12:08 AM
HOOTER

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glueing Coro

Guys, I am very new to Spad's but when I built my first DPS last weekend I did not have a torch to flame the Coroplast, so I used a orbital sander to sand the oil off the surfaces to be glued and then wiped off with a tacky cloth. I flew this plane last weekend (used 4 mil Coro on the wing wrong configuration on the wing for sure, looked like a long triangle) and three of us abused this plane beyond anything a balsa plane could endure and none of the glue joints came apart.
So this week I am building two more planes using a torch and a woodpecker to prepare the glue surfaces and I am having problems to get them to stick properly. I feel like I am getting all the oil off, so I am thinking about going back to the sander.

Any opinions would be appreciated!!

Thanks,

Hooter
Old 06-04-2003, 12:42 AM
akahoverit
My Feedback: (2)

Default Glueing Coro

I'm also new to bonding coro, whats this torch method all about?
Old 06-04-2003, 01:28 AM
MalaysianFlyer

Default Glueing Coro

I have tried using mineral spirits, woodpeckering, and flashing.
I found that the best combination for me was to flash and woodpecker the surfaces, then use CA. The CA i am using is unbranded, the bottles come with no labels on them. BUT using this method, when I treid to open the joint, the corro tore before the glue failed.

Of course if you read the other threads on this issue of gluing, not everyong uses the same method. Its probably due to the fact that the actual composition of the corro your are using is different, as its maybe from a different manufacturer, the glue is also different, and then of course personal preference.