Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

OPtions for Enlarging Plans

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2016, 06:40 AM
DocYates
My Feedback: (102)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default OPtions for Enlarging Plans

I have been hoarding plans for about 25 years and ran across a set of plans I got from Australia several years ago. I would like to enlarge the plans for a bigger aircraft. The question I have is it possible for me to have these plans scanned (and what format would I use) and then have someone increase the size and laser cut the parts for me? I know people do this, and it appears to have become more mainstream and easier than it used to be. Anyone know of someone reputable who might be willing to scan these plans and look to see the cost of laser cuts the formers and ribs for this project? It is Pilatus Porter which I would like to convert to turboprop.
Old 05-16-2016, 08:42 AM
mgnostic

Received 86 Likes on 74 Posts

I've had pretty good luck with the local Kinkos-Fedex pack-ship-print. They have the large format scanners that can take a full size plans sheet. The scan can be saved as a PDF when can then be printed at what ever scale you like. I end up spending about what it would cost for a set of plans but I have been able to have a backup copy to build on or preserved a copy of some plans that were getting pretty crumbly.
Old 05-16-2016, 01:45 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Doc, I use Fedex also. They will provide you with any file type you need. Dan.
Old 05-16-2016, 03:02 PM
Chad Veich
My Feedback: (60)

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts

Doc, you might try Laser Design Services. I don't have any personal experience but I have heard that they can convert the plans to a laser ready format and cut the parts for a reasonable price and with reasonable turn around times.