Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Designing my first Dollar Tree Foam Board plane FB-1

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Designing my first Dollar Tree Foam Board plane FB-1

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2018, 05:30 PM
johnnymax

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Designing my first Dollar Tree Foam Board plane FB-1

I am trying to lay the plans out in AutoCAD so the plane will come from one 20"x 30" piece of Dollar Tree foam board.
I made it so the wings are one piece and fold over.
I just guessed at the wing location based on other planes. I figured i could play with the balance.
I figured I would post the concept here for comments before I start cutting, folding and gluing.
NOTE: I am a noob getting back into RC after 38 years

Old 09-28-2018, 07:18 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

This should help. Dan.
Old 09-29-2018, 04:23 AM
johnnymax

Default Thanks Dan

Thanks Dan, I will read over it, then revisit my plans and post any changes from what I learned. I hope to cut and form the wings this weekend. I am planning on making the wing like the Armin Wing on Youtube..

Last edited by johnnymax; 09-29-2018 at 04:57 AM.
Old 09-29-2018, 05:33 AM
johnnymax

Here is my design adjusted as per Cunningham's design notes.
I will save foam by making the wings narrower and the fuselage shorter.
This solves a problem I had with the one sheet construction, because I need two 30" strips of foam to glue inside the wing to fold it over and make the foil shape.

Thanks again Dan! I don't know what I would do without this forum!!!

Last edited by johnnymax; 09-29-2018 at 06:09 AM.
Old 09-29-2018, 10:37 AM
johnnymax