Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

software

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 06:09 PM
kestrel0222
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default software

Hi,
I am from "the old school" of making plans for my new R/C scale projects, I use a drawing board and a drafting pecil to make all my plans. I work as an aero space engineer for a small company and all my work is done on CATIA. I have been working with CATIA full time for over (12) years now. What is a good software program (besides CATIA) to make "plans" for new projects on my home computer? Keep in mind that I design aircraft in the 1/5 scale sizes. The software should have all the tools to add things like "wood grain" and of course, all the text required to make a professional set of plans.
Thanks,
Tom
Old 04-07-2004, 09:48 PM
CoosBayLumber
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: software

This has been addressed to extreme numerous times. For what you have described, I think you are going to go to one of the big three types of CAD software, Autodesk, Bricscad, or IMSI. Normally I would say to visit the CADALOG site for free demos on latest versions, however if you want to do this type of work at home, their CAD software is too advanced for what readers can afford. The thing with "model" sized software is although cheap, few of them will can work with a drawing size of 36 by 100 inches, nor plot out, show and otherwise work with large sized coordinate basis handles required by 1/5th scale A/C. These more professional softwares have the XREF and paperspace functions within which makes for assembly of a drawing. They also have built in 3D functions, but for plans you will seldom use the feature. Few cheap softwares can read these formats, especially none of the graphics softwares.