Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Update on my .32 3DX

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2004, 11:10 PM
Fly-guy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Update on my .32 3DX

Hi guys
I am currently drawing up some planes for a .30 size powered 3DX. I have used the Foamy Factory plans but I am having a little trouble redesigning the wings(this is my first attempt at scratch building[&:]) The fuse will be profile so thats nice and easy. I have redrawn the wings with all the ribs and spars and stuff in place but I cant work out how to do the wing ribs. The innermost rib is 210mm long and I have a rough shape but the next six ribs are each shorter by 10mm. How do I keep the same LE shape and TE shape without the middle of the rib chaniging while making then 10mm smaller?

HELP ME PLEASE

Fly-guy
Old 06-27-2004, 11:15 PM
David Cutler

Default RE: FIRST ATTEMPT AT SCRATCH BUILDING-iN DEPARATE NEED OF AN ANSWER TO MY QUESTION ABOUT WING RIBS

I believe you can download a program for your computer that handles this very problem.

Trouble is, I can't remember where it is!

Try putting 'wing ribs' in Google and searching. The program will be perfect for what you want.

I will search for it, and come back if I find it.

-David C.
Old 06-27-2004, 11:18 PM
Fly-guy

Default RE: FIRST ATTEMPT AT SCRATCH BUILDING-iN DEPARATE NEED OF AN ANSWER TO MY QUESTION ABOUT WING RIBS

Thanks Dave the porgram is profili but it is going to takee me over an hour to download it
Old 06-27-2004, 11:19 PM
David Cutler

Try this:-

http://www.profili2.com/eng/default.htm

-DC
Old 06-27-2004, 11:21 PM
David Cutler

or this:-

http://www.dchobby.com/airfoil/design7.html
Old 06-27-2004, 11:22 PM
David Cutler

Try putting:-

wing ribs drawing software

in Google.

-David C.
Old 06-27-2004, 11:23 PM
Fly-guy

Cool thanks dave

Fly-guy