Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Seaplane Scratch Build

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2007, 01:15 PM
cracker39

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seaplane Scratch Build

I decided to build a seaplane, even though I’m still learning to fly my trainer. I think I’d almost rather build them than fly them, but what good is building one if you don’t fly it. I call this a scratch build, although a friend gave me a 20 year old 60” wing from an Eagle trainer, so I’m repairing it and will recover it and use it. But, the rest will be built from my own plans I’ve made up. I took ideas from several other seaplanes, including the Seamaster, Sealane, and Pondmaster, so you’ll see some of each of them in my design. The plan images I’ve used so far don’t shot the wing floats, but it will have them.

I finally got my plans as complete as I could and printed out a full size set tiling the images onto 11”x17” and letter size paper as needed to splice them together. I decided to start building, even though I may not finish for a couple of months. That’s OK, because I’m still learning to fly my trainer. And, I may take a break as a friend is getting a seaplane from a friend of his and asked if I wanted to frame it up for him as he doesn’t have the time and I do.

I started a picture album (link is below) to store my pictures. The first shows my fuse side pieces (for one side) and my top view printout. I bought 6” wide sheets of lite ply and balsa (poor planning) and the overall dimensions of the fuse are 7 1/2” (from the bottom to the raised tail piece) so I had to piece the sides together. The balsa has one joint and the lite ply two joints so I could make sure the joints were in different locations for strength.