Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

STOL plans or kit

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2008, 10:47 AM
rcfamdoc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default STOL plans or kit

I am looking for plans or a kit that includes leading edge slats and flaps. I have an urge to build the best STOL plane possible. I would also be interested in using carbon fiber or carbon tubes where possible. I have been tempted to cut leading edge slats out of styrofoam and then fiberglass them, but that seems to defeat the purpose because of excessive weight. Please give me your input. I have been building for many years, but mostly have experience with balsa and plywood. I really like to build light. Thanks in advance.
Old 02-13-2008, 11:19 AM
meaden

Default RE: STOL plans or kit

Check out Andy Lennon

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Lennon

He did a lot with STOL aerodynamics. Plans, books...I think there is a kit of one of his designs now.
Old 02-13-2008, 12:48 PM
papermache
My Feedback: (35)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The kit is the "Robin" kitted by mosquitobite Planes. www.mosquitobiteplanes.com

papermache
Old 02-13-2008, 11:11 PM
CoosBayLumber
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Was a fellow in Minn or Wisc. states offering extruded plastic of CF slats for ten years now, just for the aircraft noted. Had them in a few sizes, but all 36 inches long. Was like $3 per strip as of late 1990's. He used to have a web site to sell off other products also.

Wm.
Old 02-14-2008, 01:48 AM
David Smith
My Feedback: (1)