Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Donald 4 Electric Seaplane

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Donald 4 Electric Seaplane

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2003, 06:53 PM
Spie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Donald 4 Electric Seaplane

Hey! I'm new to R/C airplanes. The first plane I got was the Donald 4 seaplane kit. I finished building the kit yesterday and was eager to fly it. There were a few things that I noticed about my plane that I'm rather confused about.

Like I said, I'm new to seaplanes, so I'm not sure if this is normal or not. My plane seemed to be really low in the water (almost to the canopy). The floats are totally submerged. Was I suposed to shorten the struts?
I was wondering if there was something I could do to make the plane float a little more.

Also, the front of the plane is always pushed down into the water when the motor speed increases... Should I put some more weight in the back to counter everything in the front?

Thanks for your time:-)

~spie
Old 11-16-2003, 09:43 PM
JimCasey
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Donald 4 Electric Seaplane

Check out the other thread on the Donald.

Balance it according to the directions. IF there are no directions, then balance it 30 percent of the wing width (Chord) back from the leading edge of the wing. (If the wing is 10" from front to back, balance it at 3" from the leading edge.)

If it floats too low and submarines when you add power, then it's too heavy. Possibly substitute a lithium-cell battery pack, smaller servos and/or a lighter receiver. Never heard of a Donald being too heavy before.
Old 11-16-2003, 09:49 PM
Spie

Here is the link to the site I got it from. I got the plane and "everything you'll need":
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/donald.htm

Do I balence the plane by sliding the battery/reciever back and forth?

~spie