Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Tips for Floatplanes

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Tips for Floatplanes

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2004, 02:03 AM
KingSalomon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tips for Floatplanes

Hey, I just ordered a piper J-3 cub and float kit. I am new to water flying, and i was wondering if there are any must-know tips, or just general advice and things that are different for flight off of water. For example i think i read somewhere that ou need to waterproof your reciever for a floatplane. Is this true? Thanks all.
Old 01-18-2004, 10:49 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Tips for Floatplanes

Hello fellow Minnesotan! Welcome to RCU!

Sticking your Rx inside a baggie is not a bad idea. Despite our best intentions, sometimes our planes don't stay right-side-up while float flying. Sometimes even takeoff and landing runs can splash water inside the radio compartment. So yes, waterproofing is a good idea. (Not a MUST mind you, but a good idea none the less)
Old 01-19-2004, 09:33 AM
JimCasey
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you know how to fly off land, you can go out and fly off water and have fun the first day. This is especially true if your floats are selected properly for the plane and rigged right.