Notices
Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Old 10-28-2007, 04:41 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
RoysterDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 774
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

I just bought a Smart Fly ignition kill system for my 28% Extra with a DA50.

The instructions say that you can bypass the mechanical switch.

I would like to know how many of you are doing this or using both the external switch for the ignition as well as the Smart Fly kill system?



[8D]




Old 10-31-2007, 12:55 AM
  #2  
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,327
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.
Old 10-31-2007, 05:15 PM
  #3  
Thread Starter
 
RoysterDW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brisbane, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 774
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?


ORIGINAL: quist

In all of the Smart Fly planes that Robert has we have elimanted the External switch. We unplug the battery at the end of the day.

On my personal planes I still have a switch but it is in the interior of the plane. I turn on the ignition when I assemble the plane and I shut it off when I take it apart at the end of the day.

Any hints on setting up in regards to placement and securing the 2 units? Any pics of setups would be very helpful.

I havent installed it yet as I am a bit nervy of putting something in that cuts the engine [&:]
Old 10-31-2007, 09:36 PM
  #4  
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,327
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

I use sticky back Velcro to mount he unit.
Old 03-07-2011, 08:23 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dumont, IA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Just curious what type of mechanical switch anyone uses with there smart fly system and is it possible to have a switch with a charge jack on it for the battery. any help would be appreciated!!
Old 03-08-2011, 07:11 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 949
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Bypass switch for Opti Kill?

Common switch used is a JR Heavy-duty switch with charge jack.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.