Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

First FE Build - Titan 29

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

First FE Build - Titan 29

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 05:28 PM
LouDog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First FE Build - Titan 29

Well I have ordered a Titan 29 from OSE. I also ordered speadmaster hardware and carbon fiber turn fins. I hope that everybody can help me with their knowledge. I am new at building. I have always been a RTR guy. Well the boat and hardware should arrive on the 17th.

I plan on doing a 4s Lipo with a Feigao 540XL 9 wind. With I think a Castle 120 lv esc. ( unless I should consider others)
Haven't bought motor or esc yet.

Well Here are the questions that I have.

1. What is the best way to mount the motor to carbon fiber? Jb weld, and also is there a perfered motor mount? I don't plan on using wood rails.

2. I know most people say to hae your boat at 33% on COG. How do you figure that out? A balance beam?

I should have plenty more to come. This is a start.
Old 12-12-2008, 06:03 PM
headhunter23

Default RE: First FE Build - Titan 29

Balance beam could work. I just stuck a piece of dowling on the bottom with tape at 31% or 8.9 in from transom and would adjust battery postion till worked. I had put motor to back, pick all the way back or right up at front for motor positon. If the motor mount is made of carbon fibre just find something that you feel confident in that can hold motor. The only time it will experience the most work would be sudden stops ie flipping and starts. Some people glass motor mounts in, epoxy, goop, I've done all three. I would say epoxy and a little bit o glass works well, the goop is nice if you ever need to move it, it will be the least amount of work to remove, but it's retardedly strong for what it is, and can flex a bit which glass and epoxy doesn't have.