Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Decent motor and clutch for $100?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Decent motor and clutch for $100?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2006, 04:57 AM
McFrosty

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Decent motor and clutch for $100?

Hey, I'm trying to build myself a boat but I've never done one before.

I'm looking for a gas weed eater style engine but I want to keep cost down as much as possible while still having decent 30-40mph type speeds.

I bought this hull: [link=http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6055807549&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1]http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6055807549&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1[/link]

I was thinking of a $35 McCulloch from [link=http://www.staton-inc.com/Results1.asp?Category=13]HERE[/link] and getting a water jacket from [link=http://www.eellspdx.com/mcculloch.html]HERE[/link].

Anyone have any other suggestions for a decent motor? I want something that I can easily find the parts I need like mounts, header and exhaust and water cooled head.

Trying to build a boat for as cheap as possible without going to cheap.

I will be using a SPD III drive and dual rudder setup.

Thanks a bunch for any suggestions!
Old 05-07-2006, 07:36 AM
Woodmandan2

Default RE: Decent motor and clutch for $100?

That engine lookes nice. Tell me how it preform's in that hull. I would like to get that same engine your lookin at! I'm only 12 so i don't get much mony. nxt year i wil be able to caddy golf clubs around the golf course for people. $20 to caddy around golf clubs for a hour and a half and a free lunch. What could be a easier way for a 13 year old to get money fast!!!!!
Old 05-07-2006, 09:38 AM
TERBObob
My Feedback: (21)

For a new Mac ... thats a GOOD deal . I would go with that , especially if high speed is not a thing .