Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Should I Switch to Gas?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Should I Switch to Gas?

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2009, 10:25 AM
Diesel Power

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I Switch to Gas?

Hi

I am new to R/C boating. I bought an Electric Turbo V 3 from Tower Hobbies. Its a great boat. It's a blast to run. BUT..... I did not think I would get so stoked about going faster for longer run times so soon. Should I switch to gas? What would be a good entry level RTR?

Thanks
Old 07-04-2009, 11:00 AM
nothinbetr2do

Default RE: Should I Switch to Gas?

this is a good starting point http://9x4br.64n2f.servertrust.com/P...uctCode=SuperG
Old 07-04-2009, 12:02 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

That's a question that only you can answer. I did electrics boats briefly before moving into nitro. At that time gas boating was in its infancy. Now that I'm nito gas I hardly run my nitro burners anymore.
The initial cost is higher but cheaper in the long run. OK, I really shouldn't say that as people can drop mega-bucks into electric and nitro. Dependability is more of a keyword here.
Next, carefully pick out a boat. When you find something that you like, come back in here and ask for honest opinons on it. We've now got entry level RTR boats coming out the wazoo. Warehouse Hobbies has a pile of them. Pro Boat is getting ready to release yet another one. Think about how much you want to spend initially as you can upgrade later as funds allow. If you've gotten bitten by the go faster bug (who hasn't?) then you'll be upgrading shortly afterwards.
Old 07-04-2009, 05:33 PM
Bbbutch

GO GAS and don't look back!