Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

witch motor to pick

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

witch motor to pick

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 03:18 AM
dropit

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default witch motor to pick

i am new to the boats and this site but i bought a boat hull and i think from the searching on the web ita old prather40 and im making it into a gas boat im tight on money but think it would be fun hobby so my question is do i find a used zenoah 260 or i have a homelite 25cc weedeater motor that i been thinking about turninginto a water cooled rcmotor witch would be the best and faster out of the two
Old 07-16-2009, 04:39 AM
jacob711

Default RE: witch motor to pick

homies are old school, slow, and bulky, a zenoah 260 would be much faster, or even better yet an rcmk s254
Old 07-16-2009, 05:25 AM
sikR31

u could use the weedy as an anchor... zenoah all the way
Old 07-16-2009, 05:48 AM
pyro1

You can go with a 23 or 26 cc stock Zenoah. This would keep your cost down. Whobbies.com sell stock Zenoah 26 engines at reasonable cost around $200.00. He also sells a 23cc aircooled that comes with the Gator. Both engines are real close to the same stock HP. You also can check ebay for some deals. Now you will have to decide on clutch or no clutch. Pipe or canister, what prop,radio,etc. Take your time and enjoy this great hobby.

pyro1
Old 07-16-2009, 06:11 AM
misshydro

If you want a real motor at cost alittle bit more then the zen260..Get a RCMK S-254!!!! It puts out 5.2HP!!! Thats stock!! not moded!Been hearing alot of good reports on them...They cost for 233.00-264.00.....These RCMK will put the Zens back on the drawing boards....Been hearing rumors that Zen will be made in China..RCMK are made in Korea.. I bet there will be a war between China VS Korea on the motor war...Oh I forgot there Race legal too... Most races are outlawing the Quickdraws....