Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

73" Custom Mono

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

73" Custom Mono

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2009, 01:09 PM
JettaGL_1.8T

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 73" Custom Mono

Hey all,

I've been doing some research here to try and determine what I need for this build, but I'm a novice. I'm hoping someone might be able to answer some initial questions (and probably a bunch of subsequent ones too)...

Basically, I'm involved with team developing a line of offshore powerboats (full scale). My role in the project is as a designer - I'm not an engineer. As part of our development we have constructed a scale plug of one of our initial concepts. We are currently in the process of constructing a mold. This is primarily for the purpose of casting duplicates for further form development, but it has the dual purpose of being used to produce at least one or two cored glass hulls for some research (but mostly for fun in my case).

As the title indicates, the model is 73.5" long. It has a 14.5" beam (1:7 scale). The model is setup for two aeration steps at the moment but it's flexible still as these are inserts in the mold. An example of a typical drivetrain configuration in the full scale boat would be twin Mercury 1075's into #6 drives. There are many other options we're exploring though, up to turbines.