Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

K&B 7.5 outboard running problems

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

K&B 7.5 outboard running problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2004, 03:51 PM
TJK
My Feedback: (69)

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default K&B 7.5 outboard running problems

After replacing the backplate bearings in our K&B 7.5 outboard, my son and I had a disappointing few days at the lake. We could not get the engine to run consistently. At the end of the first day of frustration, I discovered the front casing bolts wee all loose. I tightened the bolts with locktite and looked forward to the next days boating. The next 2 days brought no satisfaction. We could not get anything more than a semi-reliable idle, with a very touchy transition that usually resulted in a dead engine within 15-20 seconds.

I am new to boats, but not r/c engines. I'm very familiar with aircraft engines and their tuning, and I have experience with the K&B 45 in ducted fans. What I recall most of their history was a sub-par stock carb.

Anyone have any suggestions or insight? What fuel and plug works well in this application? Any suggestions for carb needle settings or replacement carbs?

One more basic boating question; where do you position the boat for starting? I initially started the engine out of the water and placed it in within 10-15 seconds after small carb adjustments, never going past idle. I finally placed my start/transport stand in the water for start and adjustment, and this eemed to work much better. I could take the time to adjust the carb without worrying about cooiling or overreving, and providing proper resistance to the drive train.

We'd love to get some runs that we can time in terms of minutes, and not have to use the kayak to retreive every attempt!

Thanks in advance for the help.

Tom
Old 08-14-2004, 12:58 AM
J232

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts