Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Traxxas .15 engine

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Traxxas .15 engine

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2006, 12:39 AM
Tommy gallagher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Traxxas .15 engine

Hi im new to this and was wondering if this is possible

Can a traxxas .15 car engine be used in a nitro boat it does have a cintrifugal clutch and all

What concerns water cooling is it possible to make a cooling coil for the head

And how would you know how big of a prop to start with on such engine

Please any insight

Regards Tommy
Old 11-19-2006, 01:04 AM
wave waker

Default RE: Traxxas .15 engine

ORIGINAL: Tommy gallagher

Hi im new to this and was wondering if this is possible

Can a traxxas .15 car engine be used in a nitro boat it does have a cintrifugal clutch and all

What concerns water cooling is it possible to make a cooling coil for the head

And how would you know how big of a prop to start with on such engine

Please any insight

Regards Tommy
welcome!! it's possible but lots of work, there are marine engine in the market with reasonable prices,, favorably in open mono or v type hull so that u won't have problem with cooling...clutch in nitro boat is good as nothing coz once u started running the boat all u need is run it wide open and speed, clutch makes the opposite.

there are recommended prop size in different engine size and boat hull type...my 2cents..
Old 11-19-2006, 07:56 PM
Tommy gallagher

Can u please define lots of work name just a couple of things which would have to be changed

My question is would a cooling coil be ok for such engine or would it still overheat

Regards Tommy
Old 11-19-2006, 09:34 PM
wave waker

Can u please define lots of work name just a couple of things which would have to be changed

My question is would a cooling coil be ok for such engine or would it still overheat

Regards Tommy