Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
 New to RC boats got BJ 26 >

New to RC boats got BJ 26

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

New to RC boats got BJ 26

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2008, 10:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC boats got BJ 26

Hi all. I am new to RC boats. have had lots of RC trucks over the years. All being electric. I bought a used RC Black Jack 26 Red /black boat. I went to use it and seems like it is not tuned right. I am using 20% nittro fuel. It has the stock engine that it came with. Just not sure why the idle seems so high. I tested it in my large pool and as soon as I put it in the water the boat takes off at a high speed. So I backed the idle screw off and the boat dies when I am not on the throttle. Is the boat supposed to have a nice smooth "slow idle" or is it normal for it to have a high idle? Also the fuel screw...any idea where that should be positioned? I screwed it all the way in and then backed it off at about a quarter turn each time. I noticed it sounds the best and gives good response around the two complete turns off the all the way tight position. Then the throttle is at the position where I can see maybe a quarter of the open postion. Is that about right? Any help would be great. thanx

Alex
Old 08-02-2008, 10:30 PM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: New to RC boats got BJ 26

Nitro cars and trucks are slightly different animals than boats, I know as I ran them before coming back to boats.
You're going to have ot run the engine a little fat as the prop will lean out the engine once it hits the water. Start off to where it has a slight lag when you blip the throttle. If it revs quickly, it's too lean.
If you're using car and truck fuel, save that for them. get some boat fuel which will have a higher oil content. Get some around 40% or more if you want the boat to scoot.