Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
 Honker Bipe >

Honker Bipe

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

Honker Bipe

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 05:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honker Bipe

Hi all

I have just become a very happy owner of a Honker Bipe kit, a model that has been on my want-to-build-list for a good while now. But I don't know what engine I should choose for her. I am almost a complete newbie to methanol-engines and don't have very much experience of electric sport planes either. On the other hand, with my electric gliders I have the frequent-crash-stadium behind me and my gliders are (mostly) without dire need of repair after a flying day.

That said, I would appreciate some guidance for a suitable motor to Honker Bipe. The plan says ".09 - .15 for sport flyer, .19 - .25 for advanced flyer", but some of the very few comment I have found about this girl says to not put anything smaller than a .23 on her. I wan't an engine that's not so strong I can't handle her, but not so weak that I can't get out of trouple when it appears.

I've been piling up some engines I've got cheap in other deals, and those that might be in suitable range are:OS 10 FP, OS 20 FP, Irvine 25, Enya 35. If anyone of theese is a good match for the plane - fine. Otherwise I'm fine with buying a new (more modern) one. What's your advice?

/Stefan

P.S If anyone have the original build article from RCModeler March 1974 I would be very glad for a scan. PM me for my mail-addres.
Old 10-04-2012, 10:43 AM
My Feedback: (8)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Honker Bipe