Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Sport Flying
Reload this Page >

What would you suggest for a third plane?

Community
Search
Notices
Sport Flying This forum is for those that like to fly just for the enjoyment of flying, and all the airplanes that help them. Discuss here the joys of flying and the airplanes that help you enjoy it.

What would you suggest for a third plane?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2007, 07:51 PM
plkracer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you suggest for a third plane?

Hello, I've been flying my GP super sportster (mini) for almost 2 years now, and I am looking for the next step up, probably a gas plane. I had a brushless set up in the GP pushing 150 watts/lb so it was pretty aerobatic, but I'm getting to the point where the plane is my limitation, even on high rates. I'm looking for a good third plane, something around the 40 size, that has good aerobatics, but also stability. I've been looking at the RV-4, Ultimate Bipe (GP), Venus 40, and both the ultra sports. Building a kit doesn't bother me, I have all winter anyways, so any suggestions? What other models should I be looking at? Thank you.
Old 11-30-2007, 07:53 PM
plkracer

Default RE: What would you suggest for a third plane?

Oh, I forgot to add that I'm not into the whole crazy 3d hovering thing, I just like to do rolls, loops, etc.
Old 11-30-2007, 09:29 PM
plkracer

I like the ultra sports, it looks like they are still very popular. Looking at their size, I could go with the 60, but what advantages does it have over the 40? I assume it's smoother and flies better? Also, what engine would tower carry that would work great in this plane? I'm looking for enough power to hover, don't need mad vertical.
Old 12-01-2007, 12:15 AM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts