Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Universe Support > Suggestions
Reload this Page >

Full Page AD's

Community
Search
Notices
Suggestions Have a suggestion for a feature, new category or anything else? Let us know by posting it here!

Full Page AD's

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2003, 11:13 AM
MikeChilson
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Full Page AD's

Mark,

New site looks really good! However I must take exception to the business descision to FORCE full page ads on non-subscribers. I design commercial websites for a living and I can tell you (as I'm sure you know) the importance of the the user experience. I completely understand the economics of running a site this size. But aggravating your users with this behavior is an unacceptible commerial practice IMHO.

The given revinue stream for full page ads is not a profitable method of advertising capital. The typical full page ad plays out like this...
1. You sell a full page ad
2. You aggravate your users
3. User stop coming to site
4. advertiser drops full page ad

You have accomplished two things:
1. Aggravated your user experience/lost users
2. Lost advertising revenue

I hope you will consider these points I have mentioned. It is pretty frustrating to see six ads (that's including new products) on the first page and then on the way to your forums get hit with a full page ad.

Would you appreciate that? There is a fine line in web advertising and I believe you guys have crossed it. BTW... This is EXACTLY the reason I would not use RCAirport but would use RCU..

Thanks for your consideration!
Old 09-08-2003, 11:18 AM
EkRr
My Feedback: (51)

Default RE: Full Page AD's

Hi Mike

Thanks for you comments. We did revise the original plan and everyone has the ability to change the frequency of these ads showing up by simply clicking "Skip all ads". You can set the frequency to 100 if you like.

Thanks
Erick Royer
RCUniverse.com
Old 09-08-2003, 01:25 PM
mvigod
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post