Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Tx/gyro question

Old 01-31-2011, 05:59 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tx/gyro question

Hi, as i'm sure you know you controll your gyro gain with a knob on the tx, but i want to change to my Twister 2.4 ghz computer tx as seen below.



My problem is this tx has no knob, so how would I go about this? Also UI want to get a dx6i and a gy401, and they need a knob, dx6i doesn't have one. Thank you very much!
Old 01-31-2011, 08:34 AM
  #2  
ptb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: isleton, CA
Posts: 198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

You use the GEAR switch, instead of the knob (rotary pot ).
Above 50% is heading hold ,below is rate mode .
Gear is normally channel 5 .
Old 01-31-2011, 10:03 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

But what i need is gain control, as the gyro's dont have them onboard, just have delay/limit!
Old 01-31-2011, 10:49 AM
  #4  
ptb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: isleton, CA
Posts: 198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

Do you have a SINGLE wire coming out of your gyro ?
It would help, if you explained what heli, and gyro you have !
(your gyro should have two connection's, one is channel 4, which is rudder, and the second (a single wire,) which goe's to channel 5).
Old 01-31-2011, 11:11 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

Hi, sorry I have a copterX CX 450SE V2, its got the copterx gy240 gyro (Changing for a gy401 in a month or three)



Cheers...
Old 01-31-2011, 11:19 AM
  #6  
ptb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: isleton, CA
Posts: 198
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

You DO have the signal wire (yellow one ) .
you still use the gear channel and adjust the high and low settings !
with the switch one way, you will be in rate mode, flip the switch the other way, and you will be in heading hold ! simple .
Old 01-31-2011, 01:59 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

That wasn't my question, my question was how do i set how much gain i want? Change the parameters for the switch?
Old 01-31-2011, 09:00 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Soldotna, AK
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

you set gain in your tx on your gyro menue
or you can set it with delay your choice
thats why higher end tx are so nice
Old 02-01-2011, 02:34 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

Perfect, all sorted! I'm gettin a spektrum and a gy401 in a few weeks, just want somethin to tide me over for now!

Thanks lads, great help
Old 02-03-2011, 06:20 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question

Ryan, what he was saying about using the gear channel is correct. I don't know about that transmitter, but when you get the DX6I, plug the yellow wire into your gear channel. Inhibit your gyro menu on the DX6I. You will then use the travel adjustment for the gear channel in the transmitter. There will be two values in the menu. One will be for rate mode and the other will be for heading hold mode. Also usually your gear switch will change it from rate mode to HH mode. HH mode is definitely the preferred way to fly.

Above 50% is heading hold ,below is rate mode .
That isn't entirely true. My gyro rate/HH mode is based on where I have my switch, not the gain.

<br type="_moz" />
Old 02-04-2011, 03:49 PM
  #11  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CorkCork, IRELAND
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Tx/gyro question


ORIGINAL: Solman

Ryan, what he was saying about using the gear channel is correct. I don't know about that transmitter, but when you get the DX6I, plug the yellow wire into your gear channel. Inhibit your gyro menu on the DX6I. You will then use the travel adjustment for the gear channel in the transmitter. There will be two values in the menu. One will be for rate mode and the other will be for heading hold mode. Also usually your gear switch will change it from rate mode to HH mode. HH mode is definitely the preferred way to fly.

Above 50% is heading hold ,below is rate mode .
That isn't entirely true. My gyro rate/HH mode is based on where I have my switch, not the gain.

Yeah i think it's called the switch parameters is that right? like if my parameters are 45% - 55% in rate mode gain will be 45, hh will be 55?

Cheers!


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.