Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

Trex 450SA...What else do I need?

Community
Search
Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Trex 450SA...What else do I need?

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2007, 10:26 PM
aznherb36

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trex 450SA...What else do I need?

Im new to Helis, been playing with my tmaxx for 4 years, and decided to try a heli. After some research I found that the Trex is very popular for just over the beginnners line of experience. I want to double check and get a good estimate on how much i will be spending on a trex40sa, transmitter, and batteries.
To be more specific, Im looking at this one:
http://myrcsupply.net/index.php?main...ducts_id=19148

I will need a transmitter and servos (JR sounds good)
batteries (what kind? 9 cell?)

what else am I missing to turn this ARF to RTF?

thanks
Old 07-29-2007, 10:37 PM
TheBum

Default RE: Trex 450SA...What else do I need?

You don't want to use NiMH in a heli: they're too heavy. Instead, you need a 3-cell lithium polymer pack. You'll also need a gyro; without it, you'll be fighting the tail all the time. The typical recommendations are three Hitek HS65 servos for the collective/cyclic, a Futaba GY401 gyro, and a Futaba S9650 servo for the tail (the tail servo needs to be fast).

The GY401 and S9650 are pricey, but they'll give you excellent tail hold. The less expensive gyros tend to drift with temperature change.