Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
Reload this Page >

T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

Old 08-16-2008, 02:21 PM
  #1  
BoysToys
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
BoysToys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 612
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

I took my 600 out for the first time last weekend and got one flight in with the Eagle Tree data logger hooked up. The equipment used in this flight was a stock Align 75A esc, Neu 1515/2.5D/F/H 1700kv motor, and a Thunder Power Extreme V2 6s 5000 pack with unknown cycles. I was surprised to see how many watts this system is pushing. My T-Rex 500 tops out around 940w or so and I figured that the 600 might pull about 1300 watts. I was shocked to see over 1700w and an average of 1000w. That equates to 2.3 horsepower with an average of 1.3 horsepower. Now I see why the 600 is so rough on 6S packs. With the 85A spikes, I know that the stock Align esc will not last very long. I have a Castle Creations Phoenix HV85 sitting on the bench waiting be installed. I just have to pull the motor and install some larger 5.5mm bullets that I am using on the HV85 then program the esc. Hopefully I will get it all done tonight and test it again tomorrow.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51702.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	1012721   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up49241.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	340.9 KB
ID:	1012722   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ns45603.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	392.2 KB
ID:	1012723   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tn32614.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	355.2 KB
ID:	1012724  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:54 PM
  #2  
Magic Hook
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 311
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

Just curious what type of flying you were doing during the test flights? 3d, sport,?

Thanks.
Old 08-18-2008, 10:05 PM
  #3  
BoysToys
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
BoysToys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 612
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

This data was from what I would consider sport flying. I was doing some loops, rolls, stall turns, begining inverted hovering, and few attempted nose down funnels. I must admit that my collective management needs some work. I felt the head bog at least one time when I pulled out hard from a loop. I flew it again yesterday with the stock Align esc and did not bother to record any more data. This morning I stayed home from work to take my two boys to their first day of school. After dropping them off I pulled the motor and soldered in the new 5.5mm bullets and got everything up and running. I will test it out next weekend and be sure to record at least two or three flights.
Old 08-18-2008, 10:42 PM
  #4  
J-MICHAEL
 
J-MICHAEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SEQUIM, WA
Posts: 6,100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

BoysToys ~

Boy that Eagle Tree data logger is nice ! Now I'am curious what my 450 throws out. I'll have to get one of those in time... Thanks for posting that info. Handy stuff...

~ Jeff
Old 08-19-2008, 02:52 PM
  #5  
Magic Hook
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 311
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

Wow, Thanks for sharing that data. Makes me really nervious about flying my 600e now with the stock ESC. I would be really crushed it it went in from that! I had planned to go ahead and get a CC hv 85 in the future with a motor upgrade and fly on 8s or even 12s. But AFTER my bank account recovered from the inital hit of building the 600e. Sound like I better choke it out now if I want to keep flying it. That Eagle Tree is awesome, sounds like my B day gift has been selected. LOL
Old 08-19-2008, 07:55 PM
  #6  
BoysToys
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
BoysToys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 612
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: T-Rex 600 Eagle Tree Data

ORIGINAL: J-MICHAEL

BoysToys ~

Boy that Eagle Tree data logger is nice ! Now I'am curious what my 450 throws out. I'll have to get one of those in time... Thanks for posting that info. Handy stuff...

~ Jeff
The data I have for my 450 V@ running the stock motor with a Castle Phoenix 35 is: Using a Flight Power Evo25 3S 2170 with about 40 cycles 355 Watts, 33.6 Peak Amps, With a low pack voltage of 10.15v The same setup using a brand new 3 cylce Zippy-H 30-40C 3s 2100 pack showed 420 Watts, 38.6 Peak Amps, a low pack voltage of 10.61v. This just goes to show how important you batteries are in making power.


ORIGINAL: Magic Hook

Wow, Thanks for sharing that data. Makes me really nervious about flying my 600e now with the stock ESC. I would be really crushed it it went in from that! I had planned to go ahead and get a CC hv 85 in the future with a motor upgrade and fly on 8s or even 12s. But AFTER my bank account recovered from the inital hit of building the 600e. Sound like I better choke it out now if I want to keep flying it. That Eagle Tree is awesome, sounds like my B day gift has been selected. LOL

You "should" be fine with the stock motor and esc. Align rates the 75A esc at 75A continuous with a peak rating of 100A for very short periods of time. There are many guys over at Helifreak.com flying on the stock setup without any issues. The only advice I would give is to decide right now what setup you want to run. It would really stink to have 3 or 4 $300 6S packs and later decide that you want to run a different motor on 8 or 10s. Then you would have to buy all new packs.

The Eagle Tree is really an awesome little piece of equipment and well worth the money. It shows you what is really going on with your particular setup without guessing.


My 600 6s setup does just fine but it does not have the "unlimited" power of my 500cf on 6s. I can't seem to bog the head on my 500 even when I try.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.