Search
Notices

First Time Flying|

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 11:22 PM
Hammerfly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Time Flying|

Well, that should actually say hovering. I got to try it out about three weeks ago very briefly before getting called to go to California for their storms they had at the beginning of Jan. I just got back two days ago and got to take my Raptor out in the backyard to try it again. I had a blast hovering about three tanks full out. I mainly practiced doing a box pattern keeping the tail to me most of the time, but did do a couple of boxes pointing the nose left then right. This is my first nitro helicopter and have really enjoyed it. I was very fortunate enough to get a very good used one that the previous owner had set up and trimmed out perfectly. I've been flying planks for almost 30 years now and while I was working in Florida after Hurricane Ivan I bought one of those micro's that everyone is selling now. I just had to have something to do in the evenings after all my paperwork was done. It was pretty neat to learn to hover in the living room. I was smart enough to get Real Flight's G2 sim to learn on first. I couldn't believe how much this helped out teaching my left thumb to actually do something. I never thought I would get hooked on helis like this, but I gotta tell you, my airplanes may be sitting a while now.
Old 02-07-2005, 11:42 AM
WhtBronco

Default RE: First Time Flying|

Yeap funny how that happens to some folks. I am still flying planes, but will say that everytime I go to the field the heli comes with me along with 1 of my planes. Helis are a blast to fly.
Old 02-08-2005, 05:33 PM
Hammerfly