Search
Notices

New Raptor 30v2, Houston help

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2007, 01:07 PM
mbardsley

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Raptor 30v2, Houston help

Just bit the bullet, got a Raptor 30v2, OS .37, Hitec Optics, to try this area of flying out. I have been flying RC planes for a few years, and my 15y son wanted to learn the Helicopter. So, we are in the katy tx area, and looking for someone that has experience with this model, to look it over(was a kit), trim it out, and help use learn to start flying it. We are going to put on the FMA Co-Pilot, but am a firm believer in the buddy box, and live instructor. Any help would be great.
Old 11-22-2007, 02:37 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 354 Likes on 284 Posts
Default RE: New Raptor 30v2, Houston help

Here's some info for you http://www.raptortechnique.com and http://www.pilotlocator.net
Old 11-22-2007, 10:38 PM
AutoMike

Invest the cost of the co-pilot on a flight sim instead. I've used co-pilots on camera rigs and they do help reduce the workload in that enviroment but, after using them and also based on training others to fly, they really tend to impeed the biginners ability to learn to fly a heli. While its logical at first to think a co-pilot is the ideal gadget to help the beginner, its really just one more thing along with so many others to figure out how to get to work properly and then as you start flying its preventing you from really feeling what the heli needs from you in order to fly it. After all, a co-pilot wont teach you to nose in hover, loop, or roll or even prevent you from just flying into the ground but all this and more can be learned on a flight sim before you even build the heli your intending to fly.
Old 11-23-2007, 02:09 PM
Jezmo

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I second Mike's reply. I learned on a Sim, then moved to the real thing and had NO problems making the trans. That's a great idea if you already have a PC that will run the Sim of course.